Caramel Coulant

I haven’t posted in over a week, as I’ve barely been able to cook anything more interesting than oatmeal. Yes, I have so-called reasons: I’m at work most of the day and trying to see my friends in the evening, and there was that appetite-negating heat wave. But it’s all just an elaborate excuse for not sticking to my guns. Oh, for shame!

The worst of it is, I’ve been neglecting this recipe for The Wednesday Chef‘s role-reversal project. I’ve had the Caramel Coulant recipe in hand almost a month without doing so much as buying a half-pint of cream. I finally made it a few days ago and took some pictures, and I’m glad to have at least one recipe checked off the infinite to-do list.

Thanks to Luisa for implementing this Freaky Friday-esque scheme. Swing by her site for full disclosure!

And just for posterity, here’s the recipe.

Caramel Coulant
For the caramel sauce:

  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/3 cup cream
  • 1 ½ tablespoons butter
  • ¼ cup milk

For the coulant:

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • Pinch of fleur de sel
  • ¼ cup plus 1 ½ teaspoons sugar
  • 2/3 cup cake flour
  • 2 eggs

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Combine the sugar and ¼ cup water in a pot. Do not stir. Cook over medium-high heat to a dark caramel, swirling as it begins to brown to distribute the sugar. Reduce the heat to low and deglaze with the cream, standing back to avoid bubbling caramel. Add the butter and milk. (It will bubble again.) Stir until well incorporated. Let cool. (The sauce can be made ahead and refrigerated.)
2. Spray 5, 4-ounce ramekins with cooking spray; cover the inside of the ramekin with sugar and remove excess. Place on a sheet pan.
3. Make the coulant by warming 1/3 cup caramel sauce in a medium saucepan; then stir in the butter and fleur de sel. Off the heat, stir in the sugar, then flour, then eggs, adding the next just after the prior has been combined. Pour the mixture two-thirds of the way into each ramekin. Bake 8 to 10 minutes, turning the sheet pan halfway through, until the shell is cakelike but the center is flowing. Let cool. When ready to serve, rewarm the cakes in the ramekins for a few minutes. Place a serving plate over the ramekin and flip it to release the coulant. Serve with salted caramel ice cream.

Serves 5. Adapted from Nicole Kaplan at Eleven Madison Park, New York.

7 Comments

Filed under Baked, Pantry, Recipe, Sweets

7 responses to “Caramel Coulant

  1. David

    That looks absolutely delicious. I’m glad you came back to share it with us. Best of all, it doesn’t call for anything I don’t already have in the house! I’m going to have to give it a try.

  2. whereimcookingfrom

    David, thanks for reading! If you make this, I’d love to know how it turns out.

  3. Karen

    I saw your recipe at the Wednesday Chef. I truly hope you go to the restaurant and compare theirs. I’ve been looking at different recipes for these things and have been intrigued by them and are wondering how this compares to the original version.

  4. lovely blog! Love your photos. I also found you through Wednesday Chef. I just linked you on my site, hope that’s okay.

  5. David

    So I gave it a shot. Used vanilla ice cream and I think I overcooked them ever so slightly, but they were still quite tasty! Would definitely try making them again!

  6. whereimcookingfrom

    Karen – thanks for stopping by! I encourage you to try this recipe. Somehow, I feel that it’s very good and my silly prejudice against egg- and flour-taste isn’t common. Please let me know if you try it, and I’ll report back when I make it to Eleven Madison Park.

    Lisa – So nice of you to visit – I’m very flattered you linked to my site.

    David – I’m glad you tried the recipe and liked it! It’s always good to hear about another person’s experience with a recipe – especially since yours was good.

  7. Love the blog and this recipe…definitely a must eat!

Leave a Reply

