Daily Archives: May 20, 2009

On the Bagel Trail

I’m embarking on a quest for truly excellent bagels at home. Yeah, I could stop at a Murray’s every morning or stash a dozen from H&H in the freezer, but I want to make them myself. I suppose I have a bit of a frontier attitude, so I look upon most foods and think, “I can make that at home! It’ll be so much cheaper and more convenient!”

This is the same attitude that always led me to raft down the Columbia River when playing Oregon Trail. Usually, I ended up with drowned oxen and a broken axle, but sometimes that pixellated covered wagon pulled through. That’s what keeps me going.

So I’m testing out a bunch of bagel recipes and techniques in hopes that I’ll eventually find a combination that will get me through. At least this time no virtual lives are at stake. If you have a tried-and-true bagel recipe, pass it on!

1 Comment

Filed under Baked, Side Dish