When Life Hands You Pummelos

Now that we’re in the midst of citrus season, I’m a bit overwhelmed by the bounty. Don’t get me wrong, I love every last one of those tart and juicy treats, but sometimes I run out of things to make with them. So far this winter, I’ve made marmalade, candied peel, cakes, cookies, sorbets – I don’t even know what else – from the lemons, limes, tangerines, oranges and grapefruit that pop up at every turn.

I thought I was tired of citrus season, but when I saw pummelos in my local grocery store, I couldn’t pass them up. Pummelos should be golden and these were a little under-ripe, but I brought home one of the giant green orbs and devised a use for it.

It smelled lovely – floral and bright – so I put its zest into a quick batch of shortbread.  And though it dwarfed my zester and strained my wrist, the gentle giant proved just the right match for these delicate shortbread coins.

So now that my love for citrus is rekindled, I’m starting to remember all the favorite foods I can only make this time of year. Berries can wait, I still have to make blood orange sorbet, meyer lemon curd, and grapefruit pound cake before the season ends.


Pummelo Shortbread – makes 36 1 1/2-inch cookies

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 Tbs pummelo zest

In the bowl of a stand mixer (or use a sturdy wooden spoon), combine all ingredients. Mix on low speed until everything comes together in a smooth dough. Do not overmix.

Form dough into a flat block and refrigerate 15 minutes. Preheat oven to 325 and line 2 baking sheets with parchement paper. Roll out dough 1/4-inch thick and cut into desired shapes. I couldn’t find my cookie cutters, so I used a shot glass to make little circles.

Arrange cookies on sheets and pop into the freezer for about 10 minutes. This helps them hold their shape in the oven. Bake straight from the freezer 8-10 minutes, or until just golden at the edges.

2 Comments

Filed under Baked, Fruit

2 responses to “When Life Hands You Pummelos

  1. grapefruit poundcake formula please . . . !~

    • whereimcookingfrom

      Soon! I’ve got to make it again so I can be sure of measurements, prettiness, etc. You’ll be the first to know.

Leave a Reply

